any one can cook??? annabel langbein

tania58, Mar 7, 6:52am
ok I just got this book with my flybuys and I'm an average cook, but what is annoying about this book is most things are in grams ... how much is 500g of mixed fresh vegetables?
I may be mistaken but Annabel seems to market this book for beginners, but if you don't have scales who knows what 500g is in cups?
yes I asked google and it comes up with flour and baking ingredients which is quite different to vegetable quantity.

I just guessed what looked enough. She assumes that people just know things in "any one can cook". Not very impressed

winnie231, Mar 7, 7:00am
tania58 - a set of scales is worth investing in ... even if you are a beginner. Have a look in the warehouse or even here on TM - shouldn't cost alot.

paix1, Mar 7, 7:05am
One of the (many) reasons tania58 I never buy anything Annabel Langbein writes! ! But I agree with winnie - set of scales SO worthwhile!

245sam, Mar 7, 7:44am
tania58, it's so much easier to weigh 500g vegetables than to try and pack them into cups AND vegetables differ so much in density - as an example 1 cup chopped carrots would weigh more than 1 cup cauliflower pieces.
Cooking, especially baking, is far more accurate if ingredients are weighed rather than measured in grams so Annabel is actually being very practical when she quotes in grams rather cup measures.
I agree absolutely with winnie231's advice when she says... . .

:-))

elliehen, Mar 7, 9:13am
I agree about the need for scales and accuracy in recipes. I have old NZ cookbooks with measurements such as 'butter the size of a walnut', 'sugar the weight of one egg', 1 teacup, 1 breakfast cup etc. A beginner will have a better chance of success with scales.

245sam, Mar 7, 12:23pm
oops, a correction to #4... . .

"Cooking, especially baking, is far more accurate if ingredients are weighed rather than measured in CUPS so Annabel is actually being very practical when she quotes in grams rather cup measures. ":-))