I made plum sauce last night, but not sure about

Page 1 / 2
shells23, Jan 27, 11:10pm
sealing the jars , I only had jars, so sterilised them, and boiled the lids, when I filled it, I filled it right to top and put the lids on, after about 20 mins the bit on the lids that you press down had gone down, I have never done this before but I dont think I have done it properly and seen as it is fruit do i have to worry about bugs?

olwen, Jan 27, 11:20pm
That sounds fine.You have a good seal.Plum sauce keeps very well normally

paora-tm, Jan 27, 11:22pm
The lids popped down? They're sealed and ok if that's the case.

shells23, Jan 27, 11:27pm
yes they popped down 20 -30 mins after i put the lid on.. does that sound ok?

jojonz1, Jan 28, 12:17am
Shells23 can you post your recipe please? Have some plums in the freezer have made jam but some sauce would be great:-)

suzanna, Jan 28, 12:34am
This is an old family recipie, kids love it. its a sweet sauce and makes heaps.
8lbs plums
3lbs sugar
2lbs onions put through a kitchen wiz
1\2 teaspoon ground cloves
1\2 teaspoon ground allspice
1 preserving jar of malt vinigar
1/2 cup of salt
All plums are different in texture so cooking time varies,keep stiring so it dosen't catch on the bottom, I cook mine in a preserving pan on the BBQ. Boil down to the sauce texture you want. Cooking time for me is over an hour, never really timed it. The whole family gets involved and wants to have a stir of the sauce. Stones are probably better removed first. Weight does not include stones..

# 1 small onion, minced

One of the things I love about making plum sauce is that you bottle it when it's cool so that if you have to do other things you can get on and do them and just bottle sauce when you're ready. I use the following recipe but like other posters change it abit according to what I've got on hand etc. This is more of an adult recipe and I use it in casseroles, rice dishes and anything else where a zing is needed.