Vietnamese, Thai, Chinese, Prawns

Page 1 / 2
paddypf, Jan 7, 8:43am
I went to the supermarket today to buy some Aussie prawns but there were none just Asian ones from various countries so gave it a miss as I have never tried them before. How do they compare in flavour to Aussie prawns?

cookessentials, Jan 7, 2:10pm
Dont know, but personally, I would not touch them. Countdown had Australian banana prawns last week. You could try your local wet fish shop.

prawn_whiskas, Jan 7, 7:37pm
If you go to youtube and put in exactly what you have written as your title here.. and also 'Basa fish' you will be shown exactly how and where they are grown and what they are fed.It should be enough to make your tummy turn and put you off any of the Thai/Chi/Viet products.

davidt4, Jan 7, 8:27pm
And here's a link to a long and very interesting article from an English newspaper:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1067963/Is-prawn-cocktail-toxic--Read-want-eat-again.html

In essence - I wouldn't touch them with a barge pole.

beaker59, Jan 7, 9:59pm
Great for bait though at current prices, snapper love them :)

They lack flavour for human consuption however.

$8.59 Kg cooked whole prawns in the shell at our local PnS

motorbo, Jan 7, 10:32pm
omg they are farmed like that fish, puk puk im not buying them again

herself, Jan 7, 10:35pm
Thank you davidt4 for that link.What an informative article!I will never again be tempted by the supermarkets low cost frozen prawns from Asia.I have emailed this article to all my foodie friends.
Am I right in thinking that Australian prawns will be an ok option?

davidt4, Jan 7, 10:38pm
I think Australian prawns are fine.Apart from the price.

herself, Jan 7, 10:45pm
Aaah yes, the dratted cost!After reading that article though, I will not be swayed!

elliehen, Jan 7, 10:54pm