A question about cheese...

.produkt, Nov 16, 10:35pm
On the CountDown 'Shop Smarter' ads a while back, 'Richard' (on screeny flamboyant guy) is demonstrating a cheese.

This cheese didn't melt, just browned and softened which got me thinking the other day.... KEBAB'S ON THE BBQ!!

So, What is that cheese and where could I get it?

maxwell.inc, Nov 16, 10:42pm
Halloumi

Available in most supermarkets.. Pricey at about $7-10 for a small block.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halloumi

.produkt, Nov 16, 10:47pm
Thanks Max :)

The idea was to cut a capsicum, cob corn, carrot, beetroot then blanch all the veges and place onto metal bbq skewers with Halloumi and bbq.

Never done this before, So i'm concerned with how the flavour is going to match the rest of the food on a stick lol.

Any ideas? I've never tried Halloumi before

maxwell.inc, Nov 16, 10:54pm
Halloumi has a salty taste and squeaks on your teeth when you eat it :o) so as long as you match it to vegies/meats that require that salty bite then it should be fine.

davidt4, Nov 16, 10:56pm
Haloumi goes with most vegetables.It has a mild milky flavour and is fairly salty.It needs extremely brief cooking so make sure everything else on the skewer is tender before you start.

.produkt, Nov 16, 10:57pm
Hmm, was just gonna throw some porterhouse steak on the bbq, which will warrant something salty accompanying it, but then i'd have to pay particular attention to tghe balance of veges on the kebab's :S

This might be out of my depth, but thanks heaps for the help and advise!

(ps, i might as well come clean, I'm trying to impress/show my girlfriend that bbq's aren't some thuggish male meat dominated affair, and can actually be quite 'gourmet' )

:P:P

maxwell.inc, Nov 16, 11:03pm
Nothings out of your depth! its all about learning.Give it a go!

You could always make the kebabs plain vegies, cook the steak and quickly cook the slabs of Halloumi on the hot plate just before serving while the meat is resting.