Loquat Jelly/Jam HELP PLEASE

nthwest, Nov 15, 12:03am
x1
Hi, I have never done this before but yesterday I made it all up, poured it into my jars and this morning it's like liquid, not set at all.I spent hours de-seeding these things, boiling them up etc.Please help me - what do I need to do to make my jelly/jam set.should I re-boil it when I get home tonight, perhaps I didn't boil it long enough, the recipe said "boil until setting stage" but I don't even know what setting stage is.I'm a first timer at this, please help me!

uli, Nov 15, 12:45am
Well setting stage is obviously NOT what you have got - otherwise you wouldn't be asking?

Have you made jelly or have you made jam?

Two quite different things.

How much (de-seeded) fruit by weight and how much sugar did you use?

nthwest, Nov 15, 12:53am
I beleive it is suppose to be Jelly, the recipe said for each cup ofliquid add equal amount of sugar. I had 16 cups of liquid in total.

uli, Nov 15, 1:10am
And how did you "arrive" at those 16 cups of liquid?
Was there any water involved? If so then you will need to boil it down to evaporate the extra water.

And of course it is 1:1 on weight - so 1 cup of liquid will weigh 250g.
Not sure what 1 cup of sugar weighs - but it could be a bit less - so over 16 cups there could be quite a difference ...

So yes - boil it until it sets - a very wide pot (or several) will help.

nthwest, Nov 15, 1:21am