Chefs tasting food as they cook

Page 1 / 2
sumstyle, Sep 5, 5:59am
Please reassure me that they use a new spoon every time, or that their fingers are clean when they touch the food.Normally I am willing to believe that chefs have good hygiene practices, but Masterchef and World Kitchen in the last two weeks has really made me think more about this issue.

nfh1, Sep 5, 6:27am
In some kitchens a used spoon would be the least of your problems.

sandhu, Sep 5, 6:29am
you are so right. nfh1

beaker59, Sep 5, 10:07am
They also spit in the frypan to see if it has enough sizzle !

sumstyle, Sep 5, 10:15am
O Lordy

nfh1, Sep 5, 10:19am
LOL - that would be the Chef's Special.

lizab, Sep 5, 9:00pm
I always wonder about the spoon tasting on tv programmes too

chef1964, Sep 5, 9:35pm
i've been a chef for 25 + years i have NEVER seen a chef spit in a fry pan
I do not mind admitting however that in my 25 years i have spat in ONE (one only) persons food , it was many years ago he was my boss and he was a real prick.

griffo4, Sep 5, 9:39pm
sumstyle you need to give your immune system something to do,lol

sumstyle, Sep 5, 9:46pm
Well given that's it's is tv prgogrammes that have prompted my reaction, it's my virtual immune system you know!

I don't have any problem using just one spoon for taste testing in my own kitchen, but Nicki Wickes on World Kitchen surely shares those meals with the crew.I'm sure she's incredibly clean, and wouldn't do it if (for example) she had Hep C, but it did make me wonder about regular restaurants.

chef1964, Sep 5, 10:06pm
so by that logic all chefs are hard arse nut bags that swear constantly or take about 90 minutes to cook ONE meal ???

akd100, Sep 5, 10:13pm
That guy thats on good morning double dips!Was so grossed out to see him reuse the same spoon.

sumstyle, Sep 5, 10:18pm
Ummm.eh?

pgta, Sep 5, 10:47pm
He does that so the crew doesn't hoe in and eat it - wants it all for himself

chef1964, Sep 5, 11:00pm