Problems with my Magical orange cake :(

reese, Jul 18, 8:16am
Hi
Im new to baking. I made a recipe from trademe called magical orange cake.
My cake tuurned out with a beautiful texture. . but it was so bitter. . is it meant to taste so bitter? So bitter i couldnt eat it. . i used 1 whole orange processed in a food processor til it was pulp. .

Also along the entire bottom of my cake was a 1cm uncooked substance... i dont think it was uncooked cake batter. . it looked more like orange pulp that had been liquified and then re set. .
What did i do wrong? ?
Any help would be fantastic!

245sam, Jul 18, 8:42am
reese, was the orange you used a very thick-skinned one? That IMO is the most likely cause of your cake being so bitter i. e. there was too much of the white pith - I prefer to use a thin-skinned orange and also, for preference so there are no pips, I use a navel orange.

Re: "Also along the entire bottom of my cake was a 1cm uncooked substance... i dont think it was uncooked cake batter. . it looked more like orange pulp that had been liquified and then re set. . " - again here I suspect that the problem was the excess amount of thick skin/pith and if that's not the likely cause of the problem I hope someone else can advise you further.

Please do try making that cake again using my suggestion of a thin-skinned Navel orange. Good luck. :-))

sumstyle, Jul 18, 8:46am
Mmm, yes I've made this recipe before and didn't realise I needed a food processor - was not a success.

reese, Jul 18, 9:12am
Thankyou for the advice :)

I used a navel orange . . im thinking maybe it was the skin that made it so very bitter. .

i will try again!

245sam, Jul 18, 9:19am
sumstyle, although I haven't done so myself, I understand that it IS quite possible to successfully make the Magical Orange Cake without a food processor. These are the instructions that I have on file for doing so... . .

“Old-fashioned” / No Food Processor method: