man lunch ideas

mdallas, Feb 16, 7:07am
i'm a building apprentice i'm attempting to eat healthy on a tomato sauce and luncheon budget. i'm a heavy weight bloke and build up one hell of an appetite at the moment im smashing through about 5 cans of either tuna or chop chop a day with bars and fruit throwen in. help

carom2, Feb 16, 7:20am
5 cans of tuna or chop chop is expensive! What about cooking a bit extra dinner night before, chicken, chops or whatever and putting that in a couple of rolls or hamburger buns with some salad veges ? Do you eat breakfast?
Or... can you cook? You could make/buy a meat and vege pie or bacon and egg pie and carve it into 3 or 4 pieces.
I'll try to think of some other stuff. .

mdallas, Feb 16, 7:31am
i guess i should add that i'm in a extreme training programme for rugby. high protein. carbs after and before training.

alewis, Feb 16, 7:40am
a cooked chicken and a jar of mayo would be loads more and far cheaper than the canned stuff and a lot more less additives to it, I think the chop chop chicken is made in thailand and seeing standards there and what the chickens look like I would do the chicken you know :) macaroni cheese made the night before and either in a heated thermos or nuked at work perhaps baked bean sammies - a clever poster by the name of toadfish brought a toasted sandwich maker for her workplace and makes up toasted sammies with a cup of soup - potatoe salad with loads of eggs hope this helps

bumblebee13, Feb 16, 7:50am
add your tuna to pasta with grated cheese or sour cream. or make stuffed baked potatoes, savoury cheese scones. make your own pizzas we put satay chicken on ours they are really filling mushrooms etc.

cookessentials, Feb 16, 8:14am