Apple Pie Pastry

Page 1 / 2
v0rtrex, May 17, 9:17pm
Stewed up lots of Granny Smith's now I need a tasty pastry to turn it into a tasty pie. Could just go buy some from the supermarket but for some reason I am am sure it will taste better if I make the pastry myself. Anyone?

margyr, May 17, 9:20pm
Yes it does taste better home-made, but i never do I just buy sheets of sweet short pastry, even too lazy to buy the block.

jubli, May 17, 9:30pm
Sweet Short Pastry - 5 minutes to make!
1/3 cup castor sugar
125g melted butter
1 egg
mix well together and add 2 cups flour
mix together - chill before using
I've been using this recipe for years - you can add spices etc for different flavours
Enjoy

margyr, May 17, 9:33pm
wow, that does sound easy jubli, I am going to create a folder and put this in there. although I have been a cook in a bakery and a couple of cafes I have never really made pastry from scratch.

cookessentials, May 17, 9:54pm
Believe it or not, but cheese in the pastry of an apple pie is very tasty - my Dad loves it that way. It is very English in origin.

cassie24, May 17, 10:28pm
1 cup of flour
75gm Butter
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg yolk
1tbsp water

Sift flour, cut in butter until it resembles fine breadcrumbs, stir in sugar add egg yolk and water. Mix to stiff dough. Chill for 30mins before using. Makes 400gms.

Now getting cooking b! tch

elliehen, May 17, 11:08pm
And in the USA, you will sometimes be served slices of cheddar with your Mom's apple pie :)

cookessentials, May 17, 11:22pm
Yes, absolutley - this is how dad enjoys his pie too - or cheese with sliced apple and pears on the side.

v0rtrex, May 18, 2:19am
Haha, yeah well... b! tch indeed ;p. Thanks for the suggestions, I have enough stewed apple to do 2 pies so I'll try both and see which comes out on top... . thanks.

nauru, May 19, 7:36am