Rice Risotto

dolphin19, Jun 15, 12:51am
Has anyone got any nice recipes that they have tried. I did google it but the recipes didn't sound very tasty to me.

TIA

buzzy110, Jun 15, 1:27am
Can you post an example of what you thought didn't sound very 'tasty'? That way we'd know for certain if what we do is not what you want.

In the meantime rissotto is made the same basic way every time which will probably be reflected in the recipes you have read. The more intensely flavoured rissottos are made with really good homemade stocks.

dolphin19, Jun 15, 1:39am
Sorry, I'm not very good at explaining lol.
Yes, most of the recipes were the basic, rice, wine,stock, parmesan and butter. I guess I was meaning the different veges etc that could be added. I don't have many mushrooms so had to rule that out.

Hope that helps :-)

davidt4, Jun 15, 1:39am
I’m not entirely clear about what you mean. Do you mean Italian risotto, made from scratch, or do you mean “rice risotto” that used to be sold in packets complete with artificial flavourings ?

If the former, do you know how to make chicken stock? As Buzzy said, you need it to make a tasty risotto. You will also need the right kind of rice: Arborio or Carnaroli are two kinds that are suitable and readily available.

davidt4, Jun 15, 1:53am
Here's a simple lemon risotto, which is really delicious if you use top quality ingredients, especially the parmesan.

Lemon Risotto

1 tab olive oil,
1 small onion or shallot finely chopped,
2 cloves garlic finely chopped,
1 c Arborio or Carnaroli rice,
1/4 dry white wine,
3 c homemade chicken stock,
1/2 tsp salt,
zest and juice 1 large lemon,
1/2 c freshly grated parmesan,
30 g butter.

Heat stock to a simmer, meanwhile in a large pan over medium heat cook the oil, onion and garlic 5 min until softened but not brown. Add rice and stir 5 minutes.