Meal ideas for the elderly

Page 1 / 2
julz29, Feb 9, 3:32am
I need some meal ideas for the elderly please starting a new job in March an have to write up some menus for elderly

lilyfield, Feb 9, 3:46am
as far as I know, elderlies eat the same food as young people, Now the very old- might be a different story.

light, easy, small portions, soft on the dentures-that sort of thing?
Look at menues for invalids
http://chestofbooks.com/food/recipes/The-Pattern-Cook-Book/Menus-For-Invalids.html#.VNgtYiwgPLU

kob, Feb 9, 3:51am
I am a meals on wheels cook and I have to hand recipes into the hospital board each quarter to be approved for cooking,for my clients.
Here are a few meals with there costings that I have had approved for my clients from last year via the hosptial board.
I have to submit recipes, shopping lists and a budget including waste etc.
I hope this helps you out,

Please use these as a guide, if this is your profession also, please do not copy word for word for submissions.

Mains:
http://trinasbeautifulbudgetingbasics.blogspot.com/2013/09/30-main-meals-to-choose-from-including.html Desserts: http://trinasbeautifulbudgetingbasics.blogspot.com/2013/09/30-dessert-recipes-to-chose-from.html

I also have many more recipes etc and cost ideas on my blog, so check out the other pages also

esther-anne, Feb 9, 3:56am
Are these going to be sick elderly, or on special diets or something? How old? A bit more information like what kitchen facilities you have at your disposal and how many you need to prepare for would be really helpful

I hate to admit but we are 'elderly' and we love such things as Beef Vindaloo, Goanese beef curry, Thai green curry and/or stir fry, Vietnamese chicken curry. - anything hot and spicy and I do make them all - as well as the more traditional roast dinners, macaroni cheese, fried rice, Chinese chow mein, chicken and cashew nuts, lasagne, chilli stuffed peppers.