Red rubber muffin trays(from briscoes)

Page 1 / 2
carol113, Aug 22, 2:24am
I have been given some of the above and wanted to know. are they non stick or do you have to spray them still.TIA Carol

biggles45, Aug 22, 2:32am
I don't spray any of my silicone bakeware, never had anything stick.

carol113, Aug 22, 2:40am
thanks so much biggles45

kaddiew, Aug 22, 4:22am
I binned mine and went back to metal muffin trays. The appearance, taste and texture of the muffins baked in silicone was just unappealing.

rainrain1, Aug 22, 5:27am
I hate them, wobbly silly things that they are

biggles45, Aug 22, 5:42am
I don't find them any different in appearance, taste or texture than when I use metal ones. Not sure what would cause that?

kaddiew, Aug 22, 6:12am
No idea, but they did! I've been baking for many decades, and it just wasn't the same in silicone.

suzannelg, Aug 22, 7:19am
The silicone trays go really sticky and gross too. Can't wait to bin mine and buy some better quality stuff.

biggles45, Aug 22, 7:24am
Yes, I think quality is the key. Some of mine are cheapies and had them a number of years, not sticky (yet?) but starting to look a bit grubby, getting time for new ones.

awoftam, Aug 22, 7:51am
I brought some about 2 years ago and resisted using them - now I wonder why. I used them for the first time a couple of months ago and love them. They do need a good scrubbing as stuff can stick but wouldn't be without them now. No difference to me as far as taste etc goes - I mean I still test to see if any muffins are cooked - but you would do that no matter what you were cooking in?

redpearl, Aug 22, 8:43am
Yes, they are very wobbly. I put them on an upside down cake rake so they are easy to take out of the oven!

biggles45, Aug 22, 9:04am
I just put them on an oven tray before I put the mixture in them then put the whole lot in the oven. I use the flat ones for biscuits too, and you would be hard pushed to move them without an oven tray under them.