Help needed for making bottled fruit sauce

greatauntyof2, Jan 21, 8:08am
I am a newbie at making plum and apricot sauce to bottle. Why is it the recipes have so much vinegar it overpowers the flavor? is it because we are supposed to not eat it straight away and let the flavors settle? I made plum sauce last year and the vinegar taste was so strong it took me hourssss to adjust the flavors by adding mainly more plums in. I am now struggling with the same issue with the apricot sauce again surely the vinegar measurements cant be all incorrect. Should I just bottle it and forget about eating it for 6 months and hope the vinegar taste settles ? or keep trying to adjust the flavor to suit now? my plum sauce was lovely I had lots of compliments and it wasn't shelved for long.

Oh and do you sterilize the corks for bottles ?

greatauntyof2, Jan 21, 8:31am
Oh and is it ok to water it down with some water? no water in recipe.

fluffyb, Jan 21, 11:49am
MY YUMMY PLUM SAUCE recipe I've been making for decades and is loved by all! Always use white vinegar in all my pickles etc, not so strong.

4kg plums (big red ones best)
6lb (2.7kg) sugar
3 lg chopped onions
1 tbsp salt
1 pkt (25g) pickling spice in bag (cheesecloth/ muslin/ old tea bags tied at top)
½ tsp powdered ginger
Vinegar (I always use white)

Put all in large pot, barely cover with vinegar.
Boil 'til sloppy (2 ½ hrs).
Remove bag of spices .
Sieve,mouli, whizz or put thru colander.
I put it into large preserving jars with plastic screw on lids - no need to seal as keeps well.

Recipe makes 4 lg preserving jars + a bit.

whitehead., Jan 21, 8:18pm
if you nuke your plubs first then tip into pan you will get a lot of juice out of the plubs top up with vineger you can use while or any of the vinegers on the market . you should get less of the over powering teast of vineger . alison holst had a pickling book that used some thing else to pickle but my computer is too slow to find it .look her up and find out