Fav salmon recipes

awoftam, Nov 8, 10:24pm
I just love salmon - raw is amazing and I always eat it rare. I have made this several times and it is really delicious (I have c&p from the recipe I use on the internet):

Serves 2
2 salmon fillets
1 thumb of ginger, grated
1 red chilli, roughly chopped
A handful of coriander, chopped
2 tbsp soy sauce
A few drops of sesame oil
Juice of half a lime

– Sling together the ginger, chilli, coriander, soy, sesame oil and lime juice and slip the salmon in like an otter from a riverbank. Marinate for an hour.

– Brush off the marinade before frying the salmon in a hot pan for a couple of minutes on each side. We ate ours with noodles and pak choi and it was banging. Oh, and the marinade of course.

If anyone else has a fav to share I'd appreciate it.

Am going to make salmon gravlax for our Chrissy picnic this year. I have been promising myself to make it for about 5 years now!

davidt4, Nov 8, 10:29pm
Our favourite way of preparing salmon is to hot-smoke it. I cure a boned skin-on fillet for 4 - 5 days in a mixture of salt, honey and Bourbon, rinse it off, dry it for an hour then smoke it for 10 - 12 minutes so it is not quite cooked through.

Gravlax (unsliced) is delicious when hot-smoked too.

whitehead., Nov 8, 10:36pm
fish cakes

awoftam, Nov 9, 12:33am
I will try the smoking - always do kahawai but have never home smoked salmon before! Good idea.

samanya, Nov 9, 6:44am
My faves is one of Annabel Langbein's earlier recipes from he 'with fork & spoon' book . it's simple & very fresh tasting.
http://www.eatyourbooks.com/library/recipes/850601/seared-sesame-salmon-on-udon

samanya, Nov 9, 7:01am
Damn . the method is not in the link. so further to the above . method!