Tomato relish

denise41, Feb 4, 10:30pm
Hi guys. its that time of the year again!
Has anyone got a delicious tomato relish recipe please?

pugswal, Feb 5, 4:25am
Alison Holst's "Mrs Coxheads Relish". Perfect every time. I've been making this one for a few years now and never fails. Let me know if you need the recipe.

ubuthebirman, Feb 5, 4:36am
Just made tomato relish today, Annabel Langbein recipe, nice & easy, dont have much success with the Edmonds book one.

nauru, Feb 5, 6:35am
Yes please, pugswal.

deanna14, Feb 5, 7:57am
This is the one I used last year and it is delish.

Tomato Relish

2 lb ( 1 kg ) skinned diced tomatoes
2 lb ( 1 kg ) sliced or diced Onions
3 cps ( 660 grams ) sugar
1 pint ( 600 mils ) malt vinegar
1 TLB Salt
3 TLB Mustard powder
3 TLB Cornflour

Directions:
1) Skin tomatoes by coring and cutting across the tops. Pour boiling water over them leave until cool enough to handle then skin.

2) Boil all ingredients together for approx 1 hour or until tender.

3) then thicken with the cornflour mixed with a little water to a thin paste. Stir in whilst you stir and cook a further 5 min, stirring all the time.

4) put in clean jars filling to the top and pop the hot lid on (lids soaking in boiled water). When cool tighten the lid again.

Note: I often add more mustard for more depth of flavour, but you can test taste your own brew and be the judge.

denise41, Feb 5, 9:46am
Thankyou for that recipe. sounds really good to me.Cheers.

letitia, Feb 5, 12:02pm
I'd love that recipe please. I have tried googling it with no success - except one in a foreign language.

pugswal, Feb 5, 7:30pm
x1
Mrs Coxhead's Tomato Relish
1kg ripe red tomatoes, skinned (in boiling water, then under cold tap, remove skins)
3 large onions, finely chopped
2 cups sugar
1 cup malt vinegar
1 Tbsp common salt (not iodised)
1 Tbsp mustard powder
1 Tbsp curry powder
1 Tbsp Cornflour
1/4 (quarter) cup extra malt vinegar