I'd love to know how to use Celeriac

samanya, Mar 25, 11:07pm
I bought some seedlings without reading the label properly, thinking it was celery & now I have some ready. I've never used it before but after asking the google machine both Hugh F-W & Jamie Oliver sing it's praises & have some interesting recipes, but I'd still love to hear what any our TM cooks use it for . TIA.

kay141, Mar 25, 11:48pm
I use it in a gratin with sliced onion and potato. My usual method is to mix together thinly sliced potato, celeriac and onion in a large bowl, season well and thoroughly mix through a bottle of cream. Make sure all the vegetables are coated in the cream. As there is only me, I fill several small greased ovenproof dishes. Smooth and level the mixture, pour over any cream left in the bowl and bake in a mod oven till it is all tender. Watch for the cream overflowing. I have found it freezes well too. Celeriac will go brown when exposed to the air so I do everything before I slice the celeriac. I think I got the recipe/idea from an English magazine.

I think it can also be eaten raw and mashed.

samanya, Mar 26, 12:44am
Thanks kay.
I'm keen to learn & that sounds great & good to know a recipe that freezez well. I saw celeriac in a produce market recently for $10 k . yikes.

davidt4, Mar 26, 12:46am
Celeriac makes a beautiful purée: boil until tender and either put through a ricer or whiz in a food processor. Add lots of butter, salt and pepper. Or half and half celeriac with kumara or potato.

It is very good raw in a salad with home made mayonnaise. Jullienne or coarsely grate it in a food processor or with a mandoline, dress with mayonnaise or a cream dressing, add raw apple or toasted walnuts. It oxidises very quickly so work fast or it will turn brown.

When I peel celeriac I have a bowl of water with lemon juice on the bench and put each peeled piece straight into it to prevent it from browning.

kay141, Mar 26, 12:55am