Okay whats the secret to cooking steak?

Page 1 / 2
cookessentials, Jan 7, 10:49pm
Meat at room temperature, a hot pan are two musts. One of the best youtube video's you can watch is Gordon Ramsay on cooking steak.well worth watching.

davidt4, Jan 7, 10:52pm
No secrets, but here arefew suggestions.

1.Buy top quality aged meat with good marbling.
2.Meat should be at room temperature.
3.Pan or barbecue should be fiercely hot.
4.If you have marinated the meat pat it dry before you cook it.Salt it just before cooking.
5.Lightly oil the meat, not the pan.
6.Don't fiddle with the meat when it is in the pan.Leave it to form a crust on one side, turn over once only.
7.When the meat is cooked leave it on a warm plate to rest at least five minutes.

The only cut I marinate is rump, and I use a mixture or olive oil, black pepper, garlic, onion, red wine vinegar, bay leaves and Worcestershire sauce.

indy95, Jan 7, 11:00pm
I am no expert but what works for me is to make sure meat is at room temperature or close to it, a very hot pan, turn once only, don't pierce meat while cooking and rest meat before eating for time equal to cooking time.
I forgot about seasoning for which I use a little salt and freshly ground black pepper just before cooking.

cookessentials, Jan 7, 11:03pm
Yes, resting any meat is a must.

cookessentials, Jan 7, 11:05pm

pickles7, Jan 7, 11:27pm
You are onto a great steak.davidt4

mwood, Jan 9, 1:55am
I agree - but a further refinement is to sear the edges of the steak first this is doubly important forBleu (blue) or Rare steaks as it ensures the juices stay in the steak which is were you want them - not evaporating in the pan.

davidt4, Jan 9, 2:34am