Car birthday cake

misskittydragon, Jul 24, 8:54am
My son has surprised me this year for his birthday and would like a car. I am looking at this car tin 495408860.I am new to this type of cake decorating and I was wondering if I would use fondant icing like in 495216883. Then pipe on the details.

Any help would be appreciated as I feel totally out of my depth but would like to give it ago.

elliehen, Jul 24, 11:42am
chicco2 posts here and does amazing cake decorating.She might pop in tomorrow :)

chicco2, Jul 24, 7:26pm
Hi misskittydragon & elliehen.Thanks for the mention ellie. The tin would be a great base for your shape. Sometimes keeping things in proportion is tricky and the tin will help.You could pipe the details, but you could also just use different coloured pieces of fondant. Do you have a Spotlight in Timaru! They stock Satinice Fondant. Also Regalice, which is available in small packets and may be useful for the details. Keep it bright and simple. We would love a pic when its finished. Also, youtube is your friend.

annie.nz, Jul 24, 8:25pm
Bought fondant is good, but it's much cheaper to make your own marshmallow fondant.The fondant is also heaps easier to work with than bought fondant, and tastes better (which wouldn't be hard, let's face it).

You can also make your own classic fondant easily, but I find the marshmallow stuff easier still to work with.

500g white marshmallows (unless your car is going to be red, in which case throw in the pink ones as well and overcolour).Pascals taste way best.If you can get access to 1kg catering packs of Pascalls marshmallows, it's cheaper - packs retail at Moore Wilson for about $7-8 in Wellington, for instance.

2 tbsp water
1 kg icing sugar (put into the sifter so you don't forget to sift it)
Soft butter to use on hands and to rub on surface of icing for storage - about 1/4c at most
1 tsp vanilla.

Put marshmallows and water into a bowl, microwave on high 30s and stir, repeat till melted.
Add vanilla.