Butter from raw cream.why isn't it working?!

koru_designs, May 21, 2:48am
I'm hoping someone can give me a few clues as to why I can't get this to work. I'm part of a herd share & get regular raw milk. The cow was milked & I picked the milk up on Friday. The milk was decanted into big glass jars & left to sit. On Saturday, I skimmed most of the cream off into another glass jar. I let this sit until today in the fridge (so the cream isn't cultured as I want to make sweet cream butter). I made sure there was no milk in the cream.after sitting since Sat, I noticed a small amount of milk at the bottom, so was sure not to incl this in my cream. I've been using a breadmaker to make my butter.but I cannot get it to thicken. At all. Let alone make butter. Cream & container is cold (I accidentally tried room temp cream to start with with no go). I've made butter heaps of times with store-bought cream but this is my first time with raw cream. What am I doing wrong!!

juliewn, May 21, 4:02am
Hi :-). hope your garden is growing well. and bumping for you so someone can help.

vmax2, May 21, 4:24am
Sounds like you're doing everything right.Older cream is usually best, room temp, no milk accidentally in there.Haven't got any answers for you apart from patience, sometimes it takes a while to turn.Never heard of doing it in the breadmaker before.Sometimes these things just don't work, mother nature laughing at you today.

harrislucinda, May 21, 4:45am
in abreadmakerwith thepaddlesoundsstrange,whynotuseyourcakemixeraswillbeatfasterithink thats yourproblemnotfastenoughimake10ltsofcreamintobutterusingmymixer

scoobydoo2, May 21, 6:11am
I don't know about the breadmaker it seems it would go too slow - I usually do mine in the food processor (chopper) with a blade in and whiz it up really fast - even then it would take a good 5 -minutes - I only ever had issues when the cream was too cold - had to wait until it was room temperature.

koru_designs, May 21, 6:16am