Would you eat 2 year old frozen pork?

Page 1 / 2
junktion, May 13, 4:56am
Close friends of ours have just gone overseas and given us all of their freezer food that they hadn't eaten but there is a leg of pork that has a date on it of 2010 - would I be able to slow cook this or is it just too old !

patxyz, May 13, 4:56am
I would

r.g.nixon, May 13, 4:57am
I would, as long as it was a good freezer (-18 or near).

dezzie, May 13, 5:12am
Sure as long as it wasn't freezer burnt.

yjeva, May 13, 5:21am
I wouldn't expect it to be as good as new but I would certainly use it.

junktion, May 13, 5:29am
thanks for that guys - so now can any of you tell me what I should put it in the slow cooker with!I am a novice to frozen meat and also slow cookers.

bookshelves, May 13, 5:37am
Don't add any water - just add some flavourings you like - I add sage, onions and garlic and do it on low for around 8-10 hours.Sooo yummy - the meat should just fall off the bone.

You can then take it out and cut off the rind (scraping off the fatty bits underneath) and rub the rind with salt and a little oil and blast it on a very hot oven until golden and crunchy.

Use the juices in the bottom of the slow cooker to make a gravy - I like to add it to a pan, then mix with the stick blender to break up the onions and bring to boil, thicken with a paste of flour and water if needed.Salt, pepper.

dezzie, May 13, 5:38am
Well, you can defrost the meat easily enough, but I've not done pork roast in the slow cooker so can't help with that.

paora808, May 13, 5:38am
Spuds, carrots ,onions, and a couple of quartered apples.

beaker59, May 14, 1:52am
Don't do the pork for a special occasion and if for dinner have a standby long frozen pork and chicken can get freezer taint which is an almost rancid taste to the fat. Its not really a food safety issue just a bit of a nasty taste. I had it once with a large pork shoulder which I in the end fed to the neighbours dog and went down to the chippy for dinner.