Targine cooking.

Page 1 / 3
stella99990, Jan 9, 7:07am
I'm just a beginner. Any advice!

cookessentials, Jan 9, 7:35am
Tagine is delicous stella. A good book that is readily available is either "Tagine" or "Flavours of Morocco" both by Ghillie Basan.

raewyn64, Jan 9, 7:57am
Jamie Oliver was on tv a week or so ago and he was in Marrakesh and he did a beef tagine which looked interesting
http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/beef-recipes/beef-tagine

cookessentials, Jan 9, 8:16am
I do a lamb, apricot prune and almond tagine which is delicious. Mamy people think it is just like a casserole, but it is not a casserole, it does not have gravy. The lamb one also has cinnamon quills, saffron, red onion, honey and various spices. It is ot hot and spicy but sweet and savoury together which is just delightful.

phoenix10111, Jan 9, 9:16am
Hi cookessentials. Would you mind posting your lamb, apricot, almond and prune recipe please! Sounds delicious. Can it be made in a casserole type dish if you don't have a tagine!Thanks

cookessentials, Jan 9, 9:18am
Yes, it can, however it wont be the same as it is in a tagine. The tagine I use is used on the stove top. The recipe is for being made in a tagine, where you are browning your onions and meat on the stove top. Do you haveone that you can use on the stove top!

cookessentials, Jan 9, 9:49am
I shall put the recipe up tomorrow if that's ok!

richard198, Jan 9, 10:32am
Don't be fooled into thinking they taste any different. It's all in the mind.
Any earthenware casserole dish that contains all the steam achieves the same result.
http://h2g2.com/dna/h2g2/F19585!thread=7922924 http://travel-exploration.com/subpage.cfm/Tajine And finally, the proof of the pudding! http://les-trois-chenes.hubpages.com/hub/Tajine-v-Casserole

elliehen, Jan 9, 11:26am
stella, have bumped a recent discussion thread on the subject for you :)

cookessentials, Jan 9, 8:24pm
A little info for you stella99990
http://www.ghilliebasan.com/about-ghillie.htm