Long life baking for hampers!

melissajane10, Nov 10, 12:08am
I'm planning on making hampers for the inlaws again this year. Last year i made them but most of the things needed to be made within a few days of giving them and i was so stressed out working all day then coming home and spending the night cooking!
This year i'm wanting to make things that are a bit more shelf stable that i can make a week or two out from xmas and they will still have time to eat it.
Does anyone have any suggestions! I've thought about different preserves but if i do that i would like to make unusual recipes that they wouldn't have tried before.
Also i'm a student so on a limited income at the moment so nothing extremely extravagant!

greerg, Nov 10, 12:30am
It is much easier if you can do things one at a time in the evening -I left things too late last year too but am more organised this year.Shortbread and fruit mince pies both keep well in the freezer. and shortbread is fine in an airtight container for several weeks. The Bounty truffles posted by Nauru a year or two ago too will be fine for a couple of weeks.I have just made mango chutney from canned mangoes which is very nice, and I quite often put a small bottle of spicy apricot sauce in Christmas baskets.I think that would be fine made from canned apricots. Lemon curd is very easy to make too.Fudge will keep well in the refrigerator for at least four weeks.I print labels for the home-made produce and put them in cellophane bags tied with red, green and white curling ribbons.Last year I piled things on Warehouse tin Christmas trays, covered them in a big sheet of clear cellophane and tied it at the top with ribbon.The trays were only a couple of dollars each at the Two for Three pre-Christmas sale the Warehouse usually has.

ayglepaygle, Nov 10, 5:03am
Bumping for more ideas! I was very busy the few days just before Christmas making hampers and would like ideas for things to make ahead of time. Thanks

lilyfield, Nov 10, 5:17am